The Vestry is the legal representative of the parish with regard to all matters pertaining to its corporate property. The number of vestry members and the term of office varies from parish to parish; St. Alban's has nine. Three members are elected to a three year term at each Annual Parish Meeting to replace the three whose term is expiring3

The presiding officer of the vestry is the rector. There are usually two wardens. The senior warden leads the parish between rectors and is a support person for the rector. The junior warden often has responsibility for church property and buildings. A treasurer and a secretary or clerk may be chosen by the elected vestry. These officers may or may not be vestry members.

The basic responsibilities of the vestry are to help define and articulate the mission of the congregation; to support the church's mission by word and deed, to select the rector, to ensure effective organization and planning, and to manage resources and finances.

Current Vestry Members and Year their Term Expires

  • Liz Bee                                 2024
  • Jeannie Burpee               2023
  • Shirley Clark                     2022
  • Eric Hanson                      2024
  • Maisy Hochstetler          2023
  • Cyndi Jacobson               2022
  • Phil McClelland               2022
  • Jan Skidmore                   2023
  • Wendre Vaughan            2024

Two additional officers chosen by the vestry are

  • Jeannie Wells                  Clerk of the Vestry
  • Maryellen Young            Treasurer